Mohamed Salah, Sam Kerr

Cristiano Ronaldo in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year but not Heung-Min Son | WSL and EFL XI revealed | Soccer News

The PFA Team of the Year results have been revealed for the Premier League, Championship, League One, League Two and Women’s Super League.

The shortlists for the selections were compiled by members of the players’ union in January and then voted on by other players in the respective leagues.

premier league

Mohamed Salah, Sam Kerr
Mohamed Salah and Sam Kerr have won the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award

A total of six Liverpool players have secured starting places in the prestigious award, including Alisson Becker, Trent Alexandre-Arnold, Virgil van Dijk, Thiago, Sadio Mane and Mohammad Salah.

Meanwhile, Joao Cancelo, Bernardo Silva and Kevin De Bruyne the champions represented Manchester City, with only two other clubs appearing in the XI.

Antonio Rudiger secured a starting spot after his stellar campaign at Chelsea culminated in the Germany international’s choice to join Real Madrid on a free transfer when his contract expired at the end of June.

To finish, Cristiano Ronaldo enjoyed a turbulent campaign after returning to Manchester United but remained talismanic as the mood and results deteriorated at Old Trafford – registering 18 goals in just 27 starts to earn their place in the XI.

Tottenham’s Heung Min Sonwhose 23 Premier League goals saw him share the Golden Boot with Salah, didn’t make the best XI.


Unsurprisingly, the Chelsea striker and Golden Boot winner Sam Kerr leads the Women’s Super League XI after scoring 20 goals in just 17 starts, including a title brace on the final day.

Teammates Anne Katrin Berger, Millie Bright and Gouro Reiten join the Australian international in the award-winning squad – made up of four members of Emma Hayes’ champions reaching the gold rating.

Arsenal finished the season just one point behind the Blues and one player short of the XI, with Lea Williamson, Kim Small and goal machine Vivianne Miedema make note.

Manchester City and England trio Alex Greenwood, Caroline Weir and Lauren Hemp – who was also named PFA Young Player of the Year for the fourth time – has won caps, in addition to the Manchester United right-back good fight.

Phil Foden, Lauren Hemp
Phil Foden and Lauren Hemp have won the PFA Young Player of the Year awards

PFA EFL Teams of the Year | Promoted sides dominate

Nine players from the promoted teams were included in the Championship team of the year, including five from champions Fulham. Bournemouth – who finished in second place for automatic promotion – have three reps, while play-off winners Nottingham Forest have one.

In League 1, players from nine different clubs make up the team of the season. Champions Wigan and Milton Keynes Dons have two representatives. Portsmouth, Rotherham, Bolton, Sheffield Wednesday, Oxford United, Morecambe and Sunderland all have a player included.

Champions Forest Green Rovers dominate the league two team of the season, with five players included in the best XI. Three players from Northampton Town – who finished fourth – are part of the roster, while Exeter, Tranmere and Newport County each have one representative.

Please use Chrome browser for more accessible video player

Take a look at the best goals of the 2021/2022 EFL Championship season

Championship Team of the Year

Lee Nicholls (City of Huddersfield), Djed Spence (Nottingham Forest), Tosin Adarabioyo (Fulham), Lloyd Kelly (Bournemouth), Tim Rame (Fulham), Harry Wilson (Fulham), Fabio Carvalho (Fulham), Philip Billing (Bournemouth), Aleksandar Mitrovic (Fulham), Dominique Solanke (Bournemouth), Ben Brereton Diaz (Blackburn Rovers).

Ligue 1 team of the year

Gavin Bazunu (Portmouth), darling harry (Milton Keynes Dons), Jack Whatmough (Wigan Athletic), Michel Ihiekwe (Rotherham United), Ricardo Santos (Bolton Wanderers), Barry Bannan (Sheffield Wednesday), Scott Twine (Milton Keynes Dons), Cameron Brannagan (Oxford United), Cole Stockton (Morecambe), Ross Stewart (Sunderland), Does Keane (Wigan Athletic).

Ligue 2 Team of the Year

Liam Robert (Town of Northampton), Kane Wilson (Forest Green Rovers), Fraser Horsfall (Town of Northampton), Pierre Clarke (Tranmere Rovers), Jon Guthrie (Town of Northampton), Ebrima Adams (Forest Green Rovers), Matt Jay (City of Exeter), Nicky Cadden (Forest Green Rovers), Dominique Telford (Newport County), matt steven (Forest Green Rovers), Jamie Matt (Forest Green Rovers).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *